Birdy..

I discovered the singer/pianist Birdy (whose real name is Jasmine van den Bogaerde) the other day and I haven’t stopped listening to her since. I caught her voice in the documentary trailer, Girl Rising, and it stuck with me. In the trailer, Birdy is singing a cover of Bon Iver’s Skinny Love (which I adore), and the version was so hauntingly beautiful, I had to find out who the voice belonged to.

Low and behold, Birdy. She released a full-length album back in 2011 featuring covers of popular indie songs such as Phoenix’s 1901 (another one I adore), The Postal Service’s The District Sleeps Alone Tonight and others. There is something about her voice that is both innocent and eerie, but in the most beautiful way possible. Does that make sense?

Listen for yourselves:

Isn’t she just lovely?

-jo

Leave a Reply

