The Best at the 2011 Oscars.

A tad bit late . . . okay really late, but I couldn’t pass on a post to gush about the gowns from the 83rd Annual Academy Awards. Out of all the gowns worn by the actresses that night, none had me swooning as much as Cate Blanchett‘s Givenchy haute couture dress from the Spring 2011 collection.

[image via Go Fug Yourself]

At first, I thought it was extremely odd (chest frame anyone?) – but when I gave it a few more glances, I realized that it looked absolutely stunning. She strayed from a ‘saftey’ gown and took a step towards what true couture is and should be.

Also, I had to post her acceptance speech from winning Best Supporting Actress  in The Aviator at the 2005 Oscars. Why? Because I’m slowly becoming obsessed with her..


I too hope her daughter marries Martin Scorsese’s son. What a power couple they would be.

jo

Leave a Reply

