A Thank You Letter.

Dear Readers,

I apologize for the MIA status on jonotjoe.com.  Last week has been an amazingly weird experience, one that I can’t explain without saying, ‘Thank You.’

This past year (the year after graduation), has been a trying year in my life. It was a year in white space, a year in limbo, a year where I had to figure out what I wanted to do with my diploma from college, with my years of education. Of course, I still don’t know what I want – but it’s becoming clearer now. These past months, I’ve questioned myself, my worth and everything I have done that led me to this year of standstill.

I have been interning for a year – at various companies trying to figure out what I wanted and where I wanted to end up. In the back of my mind – New York City has always been my final destination. It was Emerald City for me. I knew once I got there – once I stepped foot there – everything would fall into place. But getting there – was the biggest challenge.

I can say now – with a happiness I’ve never felt, that I have a job in New York City. A dream come true? No. It’s a dream I’m living. It’s a dream I’ve been fighting for – and the fact that it’s real is amazingly weird – weird in a great way – in a way that I can’t believe is happening to me.

So with that – I can only say thank you. Thank you to my parents who – despite my months of anger, sadness and pure anxiety – have stood behind me, helping me with my internships and pushing me to face every morning with optimism. Thank you to my brother, who is and will always be my life coach. Who after every rejection, would tell me not to quit – and to keep fighting for what I wanted. Thank you to my TCNJ friends – you know who you are – for listening  and believing in me and reminding me that I wasn’t alone. I wouldn’t have been able to get this far without you. Thank you to my US Weekly girls, for the gchats, the Hale and Hearty trips, sangria nights and sharing this dream of working in the City. Thank you to all the rejections  that sit in my gmail, you made me fight harder. Thank you to you dear readers, for giving me this space to write about my passions and for reading my words – you helped me more than you realize.

Thank you to everyone and anyone I know for just being in my life – because in a way – in every way – you helped me.

I feel like I finally graduated – a year late I know – but I’ve finally found my footing in the ‘real world,’ and stepped out of the bubble that I have lived in for years.

To the new graduates who face what I faced, what every graduate has faced in this economic climate – just keep fighting. You have your diploma for a reason, and no matter the rejections – no one can take it away from you. Never quit, never let a moment of doubt hold you back – because sooner than you think – someone is going to notice your potential and you’ll get what you’ve been fighting for. If you have your family and friends behind you – then you have nothing to fear.

Thank you again. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. To everything and everyone.

jo.

One thought on “A Thank You Letter.

Leave a Reply

