Mad as a Hatter.

I finally watched Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland last night in 3-D, and it was superbly upside-down. Upside-down as in right-side-up fantastical.

I did have a small concern prior to the movie – on my way to the theater I realized that I was wearing my eye glasses and thought – will the 3-D glass fit on my nose!?

Thankfully, they did – and dare I say that watching the movie in 3-D didn’t impress me as much as everyone raved (GASP!) Sure, the effects were stunning – BUT I just don’t get what all the hype is about.. especially paying the whole “$3 dollars extra for the 3-D” bit. Just saying.

I did however, love Johnny Depp as The Mad Hatter – he completely nailed it, as he does all of his roles. He creates them into his own – and they are – perfectly right even if they seem wrong. Make sense? I also thought his “futterwagon” dancing was brilliant – I can only aspire to mimic his moves and “futterwagoning” as “vigorously” as he.

Aside from Johnny Depp’s character, I adored The March Hare – he was completely hyper from too much caffeine intake after years of constant tea parties. My favorite quote from the Hare? “Spoon!” I died.

And I never figured out the answer to the Mad Hatter’s question: “Have you any idea why a raven is like a writing desk?

Does anyone have the answer/explanation?

jo

Leave a Reply

