THE OSCARS COUNTDOWN!

The moment I have been waiting for: the championship of awards. The world series, the world cup, the Olympics of movies – if you will.

The 82nd Annual Academy Awards – The Oscars

So, what are jonotjoe’s predictions for tonight’s Oscars? Tough to say since, I will admit, I haven’t seen some of the nominated films. However, I shall do my best to predict.

BEST PICTURE – Precious

BEST ACTOR – Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker)

BEST ACTRESS – Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – Mo’Nique (Precious)

BEST DIRECTOR – Jason Reitman (Up in the Air)

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY – The Hurt Locker

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY – Up in the Air

It’s a tough call, but I can’t wait to see who wins! Not only that, but I can’t wait for the speeches – they are the best part of the show, aside from the fashions, obviously.

Here are my favorite acceptance speeches – ones that made me choke up with emotion, and yes, tear up.

“I just said to Matt, losing would suck, and winning would be really scary, and its really, really scary.” – Ben Affleck and Matt Damon for Original Screenplay for Good Will Hunting

“I want to thank my parents . . . they gave me the biggest gift – poverty, and I want to thank them for the rest of my life.” – Roberto Benigni wins Oscar for Best Foreign Film Life is Beautiful

“This moment is directly connected to those childhood imaginings…” – Russel Crowe Best Actor for Gladiator

“There comes a time in life, when everything seems to make sense, this is not one of those times.” – Adrien Brody winning Best Actor for The Pianist

“I have a television, so I’m going to spend some time here to tell you some things.” – Julia Roberts winning an Oscar for her performance in Erin Brokovich

“Thank you life, thank you love, and it is true, there is some angles in this city!” – Marion Cotillard winning Best Actress for her role in La Vie en Rose.

“Well it’s not a shampoo bottle now!” – Kate Winslet winning Best Actress for The Reader. I loved how they set this up, with all the previous Best Actress winners speaking to the nominees – I felt that it was much more personal. I hope they continue this for tonight’s Oscars!

And who can forget Halle Berry’s emotional acceptance speech when she won Best Actress for Monster’s Ball. Go HERE to watch it. Tearing up doesn’t even come close..

See you tonight,

jo

Leave a Reply

