Emma Watson for People Tree . . .

Emma Watson is making a name for herself in the fashion industry. Not only has she been the face of Burberry – (she has earned both a contract with Burberry and Chanel) – Watson is now teaming up with designers Richard Nicoll and Thakoon for a Fair Trade clothing line for People Tree. However, this isn’t just another fashion line with a celebrities’ name slapped onto to it – for Watson – its more than that:

“I didn’t want this collection to be all about me. This is not a celebrity endorsement, it is about creating something that is genuinely a great idea and about making a difference through fashion.” – Watson

With Spring/Summer as a back-drop, her clothing line includes the basics – cotton vests, T-Shirt dresses, hoodies, scarves, linen pieces and as Watson says, “The clothes are very British, which is why we shot them in an English country garden – it’s all very strawberries and cream and tennis.”

In an interview with dailymail.co.uk – Emma Watson talks about fashion and her new collaboration.

On the fashion industry:

“I am very interested in fashion and I’ve been working a lot in the fashion world recently – it’s such an influential industry, so I knew that trying to help people, trying to alleviate poverty through a fashion line, could work. Fashion is a great way to empower people and give them skills; rather than give cash to charity you can help people by buying the clothes they make and supporting things they take pride in. It’s that simple.”

On Fair Trade fashion:

“The first time I heard about fair trade was during a geography coursework project, and I remember thinking, ‘Why isn’t everything fair trade?’ Everyone knows about fair-trade bananas and coffee, but of course anything can be fair trade. Fair-trade fashion costs a bit more but allows those who make it to earn a decent living; to be able to take care of their families and live with dignity.”

On this generation buying into this new concept:

“It sounds like a cliché, but we are the future. The earth is ours and will be our children’s, and I think that more than any other generation we are aware of environmental and humanitarian issues. That’s why it’s so great that People Tree is doing something aimed at people of my age – because we do care and we will buy with a conscience. I hope that more companies will follow People Tree’s example.”

On her future plans of being a designer:

“Oh, I don’t have any plans to be a designer. I’m doing this range because I really care about fair-trade and ethical fashion. I’m so pleased that I got involved, but I don’t want to take all the credit for being the designer because I haven’t trained as a designer or even gone to art college – in fact, I had no idea about the amount of work involved at the outset!”

Emma Watson is not only an actor, model, student and fashionista, but she is now earning her title as a blooming designer.

Read more of her interview HERE.

jo

[images credit: Andrea Carter-Bowman]
Leave a Reply

