National “Pride and Prejudice” Day.

It is truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.” – Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice

On January 28, 1813, Jane Austen’s memorable novel Pride and Prejudice was published – 197 years ago today!

To this date, it has sold more than 20 million copies.

As one of my favorite novels in the world of literature, I am infatuated with Austen’s work – more so this novel.  Not only do I own three versions of the book – one paperback, hardback and anthology – but I also have both the 2005 film and the BBC Original, which I have watched countless times.

Jennifer Ehle as Elizabeth and Colin Firth – as Mr. Darcy.

I love the BBC original – however I cannot deny my love for 2005 adaptation of the novel with my favorite actress Keira Knightley.  Especially this part:

Keira Knightley as Elizabeth and Matthew Macfadyen as Mr. Darcy

“I will have to tell you: you have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. I never wish to be parted from you from this day on.” – Mr. Darcy

In honor of the anniversary of Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice,” I’m spending the weekend reading the book again and of course – watching the films.  How else would you celebrate?

To Jane Austen,

-jo

One thought on “National “Pride and Prejudice” Day.

  1. Jo, I have to admit, I love the 2005 Adaptation, too. And Macfadyen’s delivery of, “You have bewitched me, body and soul,” makes me weak, every time! Nice post—thanks.

Leave a Reply

