Holiday Moments . . .

I hope you all had a wondrous and festive holiday this year.  It always seems to fly by – passing each year faster than the last.  However, there are moments during these holidays were time seems to slow down – even if its only for a little bit.

During Christmas Day, after my family and I stuffed ourselves with a feast that was too big for our tummies, we all sat around the table – drinking coffee/espresso, indulging in home-made sweets and cookies from Villabate (an Italian bakery in Brooklyn).  Exchanging stories, playing scopa (an Italian card game) and looking through old pictures – time slowed down. It’s one of my favorite parts of the holidays . . being able to be spend those moments with loved ones.

My cousin V had sent me a picture that day – one she had found in the many albums her grandmother had.  It’s of my parents, taken around the time just after they had married, back in 1982 – and I had never seen it before.  I love catching glimpses of the past – its humbling and bittersweet.  My parents look so young – and dare I say – perfect. This picture made me smile – almost bringing tears to my eyes. Thanks V for sending it to me!

My mom rocked a curly fro – and my Dad had a head of curls – it’s no wonder where I got my hair from.  I had asked my mom if I should cut my hair and make it like a fro – answer? “You would look weird.” Thanks Mom! (But I’m actually still considering it..)

Happy Holidays,

jo

Leave a Reply

