Twilight-Inspired Reprints of Classics . . .

I strode into my local Barnes and Noble today, in search of a much-needed inspiring book.  After I finally found my book (Ivanka Trump’s Trump Card: Playing to Win in Work and Life), I was making my way towards the magazine stands – when I came across something that made me:

A. Stop

B. Gasp

C. Cringe

Twilight-inspired reprints of the classics: Romeo and Juliet, Pride & Prejudice and Wuthering Heights.

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice?

I stared in disbelief. My beloved classics – books I have read during my studies, books that I have savored for their timeless characters, plots and literary aesthetics – have been defaced to reach a “Twilight-hungered reader.”  The covers of these three books have been altered to resemble those of the Twilight Saga Series. Do not get me wrong, I am a fan of the series, but altering these classics? I cringe.

These books are now categorized in the Young Adult age range, and they are no where near the Classics/Fiction section of the bookstore. Sure, this is a great marketing plan – reaching a young reader base- by appealing to their interests [ie. Twilight,] and striving to gain their attention to the older classics. However, is it literally moral? How would Jane Austen feel if the book cover to her most accomplished love story was altered to match that of a teen romance?  Yes, the cover of  Pride & Prejudice isn’t the most “appealing,” but that’s what the whole point was: Elizabeth was written to be plain, as should the book cover.  Also, a book’s cover should reflect the story -isn’t that the point as well?

According to The American Crawl:

Everyone is different, everyone likes things and appreciates them differently. Meyer’s reprinting process is an act of embracing those wonderful novels that once inspired her. To others, like myself, it has become an act of defacing such wonderful novels that will remain fresh and great for years to come. I do not wish them to become sellouts.

There’s just one more question: Do we want our spectacular novels to be known as the books that inspired Stephenie Meyer? Or do we want them to be known for the writer’s who did anything and everything to put a good book in our bookshelves? [Defaced of Embraced?]

I could not agree more. By reprinting these classics with Twilight-inspired book covers, the works themselves will be seen as YA Literature popular “sellouts,” rather than true literary classics. What classics are next?

I love the Twilight Series, but don’t touch the classics.

What do you think of these new reprints?

jo

4 thoughts on “Twilight-Inspired Reprints of Classics . . .

  1. Pingback: Home/Refresh Page » New Moon Vma Trailer Debuts « DIY Projects

  2. You took the words out of my mouth. Yes I am fan of the series, but like you said “Don’t touch the classics”

    My teacher encouraged me to write the “Defaced or Embraced” blog post and I feel you said much more than I did. There’s nothing left to say but thanks. Thanks for siding with me one this one.

    Good luck!

  3. I think the reprints are beautiful. I read Romeo and Juliet in HS but not the others. After falling in love with Twilight I was interested in reading Whuthering Heights and went to look for it at Barnes and Noble. When I saw the new cover (at first I thought it was cheesy and out to make a buck) but then I thought how lovely it would look next to my set of the Twilight Saga and decided to buy them. If it gets people like me (who didn’t read books at all) to read the classics then I say go for it! I unfortunately judge books by their cover and these are breathtaking. I’m pleased with the change.

  4. I find them completely ridiculous, to be honest. I agree all the way. I saw these “sellout”-y covers and I almost wanted to cry. I have nothing against changing the covers periodically, to maintain interest and to catch the eye of the younger generation, but I don’t think it’s too much to ask for it to be done tastefully, and to not deface a timeless classic like Wuthering Heights with a BELLA AND EDWARD’S FAVORITE BOOK! sticker. And I don’t think it’s doing anyone any favors – if a preteen/teenager starts reading it because BELLA AND EDWARD! :D! did, they’re going to be in for a surprise with the language, and the discovery of historical English in that medium… that could potentially discourage them for life, is what I’m thinking.

    I don’t love or hate the books, but I don’t see why someone published a book and the world ate it up, and that gives them a right to influence 200+ year-old classics. Mostly I’m just annoyed that someone thought it would be a good idea. Annoyed and afraid. I think I did wail “WHAT IS THE WORLD COMING TO?!?” quite a few times.

Leave a Reply

