The Perks of Re-Reading. . .

Judging from my tweets, one could determine the following: harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-

A. I have just read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

B. I have read it twice

C. I cried…on more than one occasion.

It is true, I have spent a good amount of my summer reading that last installment of the Harry Potter series.   Sure, you could say that I’m a slow reader, OR you could say that I “read in between the lines.”  It took me a good month to finally finish the book for the second time, savoring the bittersweet ending of what I consider the book of my generation.

With the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in 1997, I was a 10 year old whose first response when my mother bought me the book was, “Mom, I don’t want to read about wizards.”

Yet, little did I know that once I watched the first movie, I would be hooked. I jumped into reading the books immediately and ever since then, I was a Harry Potter Fan. Midnight book sales and midnight showings, I was there. Waiting for the moment I would get my hands on the latest Harry Potter.  Waiting for the screen to start up with the Potter theme music, followed by the Harry Potter logo emerging from a cloud of smoke…

Yet, as fast I read the books and as much as I watched the movies, I always went back to re-reading the text. I wanted to find out more, see what I missed or understand the deeper meaning.  I must have re-read the series twice, some books three times and still, I find myself going back to them.

What I love about re-reading is that you’ll always find something that you missed the first time around. Books are like old friends, ones who you can always go back to, whose stories never get old. I love being able to fall back into the pages, and stumble upon something I missed, or finally understanding what a passage meant.  A book never ends once you close it, its pages will always be there to invite you back in.

After re-reading the last Harry Potter book, I finally understood the message and plot better, and I saw the truths that were hidden in-between the lines.

The pages before the first chapter of The Deathly Hallows, reads a poem and an excerpt about death and friendship. What I skimmed over the first time, I stopped the second time. The message it sent, the message that laced its way through the book, was now visible to me. YET,  I won’t explain it here, its something you have to read, something you have to go back to and read with new eyes.

This is the comfort of friends, that though they may be said to die, yet their friendship and society are, in the best sense, ever present, because immortal.” – William Penn, Fruits of Solitude

The books on your bookshelf, or the ones stowed away in boxes, should never be closed permanently.  They hold a life, a meaning, one that never dies – ones whose ink never fades . .

How many books have you re-read? How many times have you re-read a book?

Leave a Reply

