Sarah Dessen Spills her HEART . . .

I have been reading Sarah Dessen books since I was an awkward little sophomore in High School. Yes, I’m not ashamed to admit that I continued my awkward stage way up till sophomore year, actually I’m lying, junior year. FAIL.

how-to-dealANYWAYS, my first book of Sarah’s was the compilation of That Summer and Someone Like You = HOW TO DEAL.

Does that ring a bell? The movie with Mandy Moore? Yep, it was based on Dessen’s two novels.

Ever since then, I have been hooked, reading almost every book she wrote, (save for Dreamland and Keeping the Moon) falling in love with the characters, growing to love reading and becoming inspired to write. WHICH then led to me figuring out my life’s goal – to be a writer. Hence the English major and the blog and so on. . .

I finished Dessen’s latest novel, Along for the Ride and it does NOT disappoint. It is one of my favorites, which includes The Truth About Forever (I’ve read it three times…LOL) and This Lullaby.

along-for-the-ride-cover

The characters were so relatable, the issues real and intriguing, with a setting that let you escape. I loved the book. It’s cluttered with post-its, highlighting my favorite passages and parts of the book. 🙂 I couldn’t help myself!!

So I was really excited to receive my e-newsletter from I Heart Daily featuring Sarah Dessen, spilling her heart over a few of her favorite things. Here’s a glimpse:

1. Dior Addict Ultra-Gloss Lip Gloss ($26). “I didn’t think anything could win me over from my loyalty to Stila. I was wrong. This lip gloss has a perfect little brush, great shine, and lets even us regular girls have something Dior. Nice.”

For more of Dessen’s favorite things, go HERE

I met one of the founder’s of I Heart Daily, Melissa Walker, who came to my school to chat with ED2010.  Once we began sharing our favorite books, Sarah Dessen came up and it turned out Melissa knew her! (They were even on a magazine cover together!!) I was ecstatic and not one bit surprised when I got my newsletter with Dessen featured.

Thanks Melissa!!

Happy reading,

JO

ps. one of my favorite passages from Along for the Ride :

“I found myself suddenly reaching out to grab a pack of two chocolate cupcakes.  I knew they were extraneous, highly caloric, a waste of money. And yet I had to wonder if they were right.  When you don’t know where you’re going, maybe it wasn’t such a bad thing to have more than you need” (pg. 133).


Leave a Reply

