Literary Musings…

I recently paid a visit to my favorite store… Barnes and Noble and I decided to pick up some books that have intrigued me for some time now.the bell jar

The Bell Jar by Slyvia Plath

A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

I have been meaning to read these books but I never picked them up, so tonight as I took a gander beyond their covers, I fell in love with their words.

Upon reading the first chapter of The Bell Jar, the first page caught my interest and I just could not put it down.  Plath was such a great writer, her descriptions are … mesmerizing really.

Allow me to tickle your literary taste buds:

New York was bad enough.  By nine in the morning the fake, country-wet freshness that somehow seeped in overnight evaporated like the tail end of a sweet dream.  Mirage-gray at the bottom of their granite canyons, the hot streets wavered in the sun, the car tops sizzled and glittered, and the dry, cindery dust blew into my eyes and down my throat (pg 1)

I’ll let that sit in your mind for a bit..

..

.

Beautiful. Great writer. That is all I have to say.

I can’t wait to dive deeper into this novel.  I hear that its depressing, but with writing like this,I can’t help but read on…

ta,

jo.

2 thoughts on “Literary Musings…

  1. I love Sylvia Plath! And The Bell Jar is one of my favorite summertime reads. (Don’t even try to read it during any other season. You will want to hurl yourself down some stairs.)

Leave a Reply

