The story I will tell for years to come….

It was a Wednesday night, approximately 9:58PM.

I was in my dorm room, sitting on my bed with my lap top, trying to start my Media Law paper (5-6 pages long, I only had a paragraph) that was due the next morning.

My TV was turned on, volume high.

Then, it happened. 

Brad Lidge threw the perfect pitch, clinching the World Series for the Philadelphia Phillies.

I couldn’t really tell you what happened next…a lot of screaming, jumping up and down, shouting OMG! OMG! WE WON! WE WON!!….for about 10 minutes.

Calling anyone  and everyone to tell them that the Phillies won, they did it, we are 2008 World Champs.

Celebration at the end of 9th inning.  ( Michael Perez / Staff Photographer )

Celebration at the end of 9th inning. ( Michael Perez / Staff Photographer )

If you are a Philadelphia fan, then you would understand the sentimental value of this win, what it really  means to finally see the Phillies win.

For countless years, I have watched my family, especially my brother, get his hopes high everytime the Phillies came close to the World Series.  It seemed to me like an impossible feat, with the Phillies always falling short.

In each of those losses, my brother would be dissappointed and broken hearted. Each year it became harder for him to accept that his team lost…again, but with every new season approaching, he always had high hopes for Philly.

It amazed me at how he continued to believe in his team, despite after each passing season the Phillies would break his heart, unintentionally of course, he still believed in them.

So after 28 years of waiting, last night was the Phillies’ gift to both themselves and to a city who never stopped believing.

Philly Fans are one of a kind. They love their teams and hate their opponents, and they are not afraid to show it.  Through thick and thin, Phillies fans never gave up on their team, and last night was a dream come true.  

So to non-Philly fans, I don’t care how much you hate them, my team won and your team lost.  You now have no right to throw in our faces, “when was the last time the Phillies won the World Series?!”  The Phillies have proven themselves to the National League that they are here to stay.  If there was ever a city so alive, it was Philadelphia last night.  There is no city like it, and I’m pretty sure we gave a new meaning to what it means to celebrate a World Series win.

This article was on ESPN, highly touching and emotional.  It was a great recap of the win last night.  Here’s an excerpt:

Before this night, they’d won one World Series in the first 125 years in their history. They’d lost more games than any team in any professional sport in North America. They were a team that hadn’t just dropped off their own city’s map. There was a time they’d practically toppled off their own sport’s map.

 

But not anymore.

 

Just a month and a half ago, in mid-September, these Phillies were a team dangling from the National League cliff — 3½ games behind the Mets in the NL East, four games back of the Brewers in the wild card free-for-all. No one could have seen then that a parade was in their future.

 

But since then, all they’ve done is go 24-6. Yeah, 24-6. Only four World Series winners in history — just two of them in the past 94 years — ever had a better finish than that.

-Jayson Stark: “Philadelphia finally gets another title”

 

I still can’t believe it, and every time I watch highlights I get chills.  I can’t believe we won, I finally saw my team win a World Series.

Thanks Phillies. Thanks for making my family, my brother’s dream come true, and thanks for making me believe.  I love you.

Brett Myers runs with the NL pennant after winning the World Series.  ( David Maialetti / Staff Photographer )

Brett Myers runs with the NL pennant after winning the World Series. ( David Maialetti / Staff Photographer )

 

Phillies carry the 2008 World Series trophy back to the club house in front of fans at Citizens Bank Park on Wednesday, October 29, 2008.  ( Michael Perez  / Staff Photographer )

Phillies carry the 2008 World Series trophy back to the club house in front of fans at Citizens Bank Park on Wednesday, October 29, 2008. ( Michael Perez / Staff Photographer )

 

Here’s a recap of the Phillies winning, JUST IN CASE you missed it 😉

Leave a Reply

