Kudos for Keratin!!

I understand that I’ve been behind my curly entries, so to make up for lost time, here’s your dose of jo’s curly 411.

First, some very interesting news.  I previously mentioned that a certain salon stopped giving second treatments of the Keratin Treatment to customers.  I called the salon, BLINK, and asked to see if this was true.  The hairdresser responsible for applying the treatments said that it was fine to get it done.  However, I was still skeptical, seeing as how I’ve had bad experiences at the salon. 

My backup? Other bloggers have said that a second treatment is even better! 

So for every curly blogger out there, I highly suggest that you go to a well known salon and get a consultation.  That way, the hairdresser can evaluate your hair, just to be on the safe side.

Now back to the salon BLINK, just a few weeks ago, I learned that the salon CLOSED!!! Ironic? Random?  Who knows.  In my personal experience with the salon, I never really felt that they were “professionals” if you will.  The only thing I felt that the salon succeeded in was keeping up with the latest fashions…if that.

Let’s just say, I got a relaxer done there and it completely RUINED my hair.  So I’m a bit bitter.  I guess closing down was the best thing that ever happened to them. WHOOOPS, I’m being super mean 🙂

Anyways, as an update with my hair, its still super shiny and healthy! I love it 😀 I got the treatment back in June.

Pureology Serious Colour Care, Antifade Complex, Hydrate ...The shampoo I use is PUREOLOGY: Antifade Complex, and it works like a charm 😀 I try to wash my hair 3 times a week.

As for higlighting your hair, my mom got the treatment back in May and still highlights her hair.  There’s no damage, and if anything her hair looks super shiny and healthy still.

So after months of research, I have found nothing negative about getting the treatment a second time.  Kudos!!!

11 thoughts on “Kudos for Keratin!!

  1. Just wanted to add a few pointers to keeping your hair smooth and silky. I have been giving treatments to clients for several months. I had curly frizzy hair forever and to top it off, I live in the South so I thought OK another straightening product. I loved the idea of no chemicals as they can be very damaging as we all know. This product is amazing and gives amazing results. If done properly the first time, there is not need for a second app. for at least 3-4 months. Most of my clients go 4 months. I do recommend they use the Keratin shampoo and conditioner. I also send home a Keratin mist to be applied after the hair is shampooed and towel dried. If you want color, make sure it is done before the treatment. This will also help to lockin the color. Hope this is helpful and enjoy beautiful silky, shiney, frizz free hair!!!

  2. would like to known, the second time,to do the treatment again do you do the roots,or start all over again, please let me know.

    Janine

  3. You should totally post a picture or two of your hair. I have kinky hair and am dying to go and get this process done. I love having curly hair, but it knots like crazy. This process seems a like a good solution to my problem. I CANNOT and WILL NOT ever put a relaxer in my hair again. They wreak my hair and severely damage my scalp. Something I can try without permanently changing my hair structure is totally me. I’m definitely a temporary tattoo sort of girl.

  4. i had the keratin complex treatment done 3 time in a year interval. I am completely satisfied with the results. I know this sounds so cheezy but it has changed my life in more ways than 1. I know if uve been battling curly, thick, sicilian(lol) hair you understand what im talking about! From an hour of sweating, arms getting tired, opening windows for jus OK hair to running a wide toothed comb with a dab of product and out the door in 5. Cant beat that!!! My stylist is certified and always updates me with the most current hair trends. I am proud 2 say i get all my services & needs met @ Atelier Salon & spa in BaskingRidge New Jersey…So if ur stuck..in a slump..or just bored with ur current look give em a buzz!!

  5. Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    i had the keratin complex treatment done 3 time in a year interval. I am completely satisfied with the results. I know this sounds so cheezy but it has changed my life in more ways than 1. I know if uve been battling curly, thick, sicilian(lol) hair you understand what im talking about! From an hour of sweating, arms getting tired, opening windows for jus OK hair to running a wide toothed comb with a dab of product and out the door in 5. Cant beat that!!! My stylist is certified and always updates me with the most current hair trends. I am proud 2 say i get all my services & needs met @ Atelier Salon & spa in BaskingRidge New Jersey…So if ur stuck..in a slump..or just bored with ur current look give em a buzz!!

  6. I Just had the Keratine treatment done about 3 days ago for the first time, I’ve heard great things about it, I mostly tried it because I was told my hair was going to look shinier and healthier. I have curly hair, nice curls, it does frizz sometimes but I like my curly hair. i’m afraid that I’m going to loose my natural curls, I like to have the option of having my hair curly or straight whenever I like. I’m supposed to wash my hair tomorrow or Thursday is the most I can go without washing it. Has anyone heard of someone with natural curly hair loosing their curls after this treatment??? I hope I didn’t make a mistake.

    • hello- i just got mine done and i also had nice curls. i was my hair on saturday… how did your turn out when you washed. did you regain your curls. how long did it take and did it come back the same or nicer. please let me know. i can be reached at waheeda.ramdayal@us.pwc.com

  7. I just had the BKT done a week ago and I absolutely love it!!! I have very curly, dry hair and after the treatment my hair is unbelievably straight,silky and shiney. I am completely satisfied with the results and it has changed my life!!! It usually takes me an hour to do my hair, now it takes my five minutes!!!! I went to Annabelle’s salon in NYC on the lower eastside. Nellie, the owner is amazing! She explained the entire process, she is experienced and qualified. I feel more confident and beautiful. Thanks, Nellie

  8. I had mine done in Toronto, Canada at Jean Charles salon.
    My hair is different levels of curly and frizzy. For the first time ever it is all straight.
    I have had lots of positive feedback.
    I highly recommend this.

Leave a Reply

