Calling all reinforments…

Thanks to a helpful blogger and some more research, I have found further information about a second treatment of the Coppola Keratin Treatment.

First: The helpful blogger wrote that a second treatment is not as damaging as I heard.

Second: I read up some “curly-blogs” and someone who got it done twice did not complain about any damage done to her hair. 

AH! I can actually breathe a sigh of relief! The treatment really did wonders for my hair, and made it SO much more healthier than it was. So I might consider getting it done again, though I’m still not sure…

If you’re still contemplating on getting it done, I highly suggest it… it will change your curly/frizzy hair for the better!

Also, for a little personal update, I got this treatment done in June and so far my hair has been behaving.  EXCEPT for my ends, which are left-over relaxed-processed hair (which I really hate), and whenever humidity strikes, they are the first to frizz.  It’s so annoying and I really want to cut off my ends, BUT I have to let them grow out a little bit more. UGH

Anyways, my mom got the same treatment done in late April and her hair has already started getting frizzy. It held up for almost 3 months, and she’s a little disappointed because its suppose to last up to 6 months. I personally think its because she gets her hair colored every now and then, and maybe that’s why the treatment didn’t last long.  Any thoughts?

So my mom talked it over with my hairdresser, and she suggested to get this Frizz balm, which is safe to use on treated hair.  It worked wonders on my mom’s hair, it made it even more shinier and less frizzy.  I tried it (on my ends) and it works like a charm!  PHYTO Phytodefrisant, Botanical Hair Relaxing Balm

It’s a french product by PHYTO called Phytodefrisant.  It’s a botanical hair relaxing balm (smooths and moisturizes) and it’s safe to use on Keratin treated hair.

It’s about $26.00, a little pricey but worth every drop.  

If anyone has anymore information about a second treatment of the Coppola Keratin Treatment, please share! 😀

have a frizz-free day,

jo

10 thoughts on “Calling all reinforments…

  1. Hi! Just discovered your blog and thought Id comment. I am a stylists in Florida (MOST HUMID STATE) and have been doing the keratin treatment for 6 months. LOVE the results! Have found that people who shampoo frequently (more than 2 a week)are only getting about 3 months out of it. Second time around is even better. Leaving the hair in incredible shape.

  2. Hi. Just read your comment about the Keratin Complex by Coppola. I have am a stylist/colorist, and I also work as an educator for a top haircolor company. Anyways I have been doing this treatment since march. I was trained it in December 2007. I did additional research before I began offering this service. One thing that they recomment is using a sulfate free shampoo and conditioner. The reason is they say it lasts 3-6 mos. The importance of sulfate free is that the sulfates can break down the treatment and make it so it doesnt last as long. The first client I did this too in march is having it done next week for the second time. and it was last month that we could tell it was starting to wear off. so hers lasted about the full time. Also. if you are a candidate for this treatment you shouldnt be washing your hair more than 2-3 times a week at most because it is a fact that curly/frizzy hair tends to dry it out. if you need to get it wet everyday try to wet it down and condition it with out shampooing.

  3. I had the Keratin Complex done a few weeks ago. I couldn’t tell how well it came out because the lady used a flat iron on my hair over and over again. So I wasn’t sure until I washed it just how healthy it was. My hair is much healthier and I want have to ever go back to getting perms. However my edges need to be colored and I want to put a semi-permanet color or a rinse on it to cover the grays…is this okay to do? I paid to have this done prior to the treatment but it came out in the first washing and I don’t want to go back for that again.

  4. I’ve done it two times. Color on the same day prior to the treatment. I use only Coppola Shampoo and Conditioners–and was my hair every 4-6 days.
    I have the roots colored when necessary. First treatment was in May- lasted until Sept. It’s now January–and my hair is still great. Infact- I don’t ever blow dry it. I let it air dry and take a flat iron to it starting underneath and then finishing on top- with as many or few waves as I want. These last until the next washing. Pretty amazing. I live in a humid place–NO PROBLEM. If only I had had this freedom when I was younger. I would have done so much more with this was and wear head of hair. It’s definatly worth doing for as far into the future as I can. It’s a 3 hour treatment every 4-5 months. How bad can that be? Freedom! Get a good hairdresser and maybe if you don’t blowdry between treatments it will last event longer than before!

  5. I’ve done it two times. Color on the same day prior to the treatment. I use only Coppola Shampoo and Conditioners–and wash my hair every 4-6 days.
    I have the roots colored when necessary. First treatment was in May- lasted until Sept. It’s now January–and my hair is still great. Infact- I don’t ever blow dry it. I let it air dry and take a flat iron to it starting underneath and then finishing on top- with as many or few waves as I want. These last until the next washing. Pretty amazing. I live in a humid place–NO PROBLEM!! If only I had had this freedom when I was younger. I think I would have done so much more with this ‘wash and wear’ head of hair. For me, this is a process that’s definatly worth doing for as far into the future as I can. It’s a 3 hour treatment every 4-5 months. How bad can that be? Freedom! Get a good hairdresser and maybe if you don’t blowdry between treatments it will last event longer than before!

  6. I’ve a great service with the Coppola Treatment Complex ( Keratin treatment) .I found this brazilian hairdresser,named Alan , in Astor Hair, NY Village, that really gave me a great service.(
    Whenever I am there I will see him!!!

    I’ve keratin done a million times, and makes a “”HUGE”” difference when the hairdresser takes his time, AND FLAT IRON YOUR HAIR IN “”” VERY SMALL “”” sections !!! Make sure to get your hair shampoo twice, ( if virgin hair 3 times)

    Keratin Roks
    This solution is INSANE !!!

  7. Iv’e had keratin done a month ago and want it for the rest of my life. Never have i let my hair airdry and with no product use, it dry this beautifull and wavy.No frizz,no shrinking length.Amazing.Although i am wondering if its ok to color my hair with brown color?or will it ruin my keratin treatment?I also wondered if the “chi” or “ghd” flat irons work when giving the treatment innitially?thank you-

  8. I am a stylist who reciently purchased La-brasiliana (another keratin treatment). I am very concerned about the side effects of the formaldehyde in this product. Through research i’m understanding that anything over .2 % is not safe hence the warning to use mask/gloves. Can anyone shed some light on this?

    I see the reviews are about Coppola which i’ve never used. Does the Coppola contain this harmfull chemical also?

  9. I did the keritan treatment, but it had formaldeyde in it, The fumes were terible my eyes begun to water and burn, i had difficulty breathing, i told the stylist to stop he gave me a wet towel and placed it over my face,i told him to stop the whole thing asap. this was not a good experience, a friend of mine from brazil shared with me that a few deaths occurred in brazil during hair treatmeant,because of formaldeyde. Now i see a lot of ads about coppola keritan treatments,does this product contain formaldeyde?
    My hair needs help if this product does not contain fumes I’am willing to give it a try. can anyone shed a light on this, thanks.

Leave a Reply

