Prince Caspian: My adventure incomplete

So much to my previous disappointment (I discovered that nothing happens between Susan and Caspian in the novel), I finished Prince Caspian and watched for probably the 10th time The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, thinking to myself that I was FINALLY going to watch the movie today. 

WELL WELL WELL, much to MY surprise… NO ONE WOULD WATCH IT WITH ME!!!!  What is a girlPrince Caspian to do? Go to the theaters and watch it by herself?  I might just have to do that … I am THAT desperate to watch this film.

I heard so many great things about it, and I’ve also heard that the movie isn’t quite like the book.  Well in my opinion, I was not too thrilled about the novel.  It was pretty… how do i say this?…. dull compared to the previous novels. I was expecting a huge battle between Old Narnia and so the called “New Narnia,” as well as a fight between the Prince Caspian and his evil uncle, Miraz.  UNFORTUNATELY, none of those things happened the way I quite expected them to. 

If I’m not mistaken, the first page of the book states:

A Young Prince must fight for his stolen throne.

Okay, um WHAT fight? The only fighting I read about involving Prince Caspian was when he was fighting at Aslan’sHow before and after they sounded Susan’s horn.  Oh and I’m sorry, I forgot to mention the little quarrel with Nikabrik, the Hag and the Wer-Wolf. WAS THAT HIS FIGHT?? I understand he was wounded and was advised not to avenge his uncle, but seriously.  What did Prince Caspian do otherwise to get his throne back?

Despite the lack of battles and fights, the novel was also pretty sad, regarding Peter, Susun, Edmund and Lucy.  It did cast a bit of nostalgia for the second book, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, and some tears knowing that Peter and Susan are too old to return to Narnia 😦

So, I’m really looking forward to watching the movie PRINCE CASPIAN just to see the differences, and if these differences make the story better (that’sif I find someone to watch it with me, or that I get enough courage to go alone).

Until then, I’ll be beginning my 5th adventure in Narnia by reading THE VOYAGE OF THE DAWN TREADER, and by the looks of it, it seems like Edmund and Lucy will be returning (whew).

Oh and I’ll also be watching THE LION, THE WITCH AND THE WARDROBE for the 11th and 12th time just because I’m that addicted 😀

Fare-thee-well,

joO. if you must… add an extra O, not an E to JO.

Leave a Reply

