With great power, comes great responsibility.

Ew.

I just read an interview with Anna Popplewell, the actress who plays Susan in THE LION, THE WITCH AND THE WARDROBE, and I found out that after the book Prince Caspian, Susan AND Peter will no longer return the Narnia.

Anna Popplewell

WHAT!? I was hoping that she and Prince Caspian would end up together!!! ugh. I’m so heartbroken right now.  I don’t know if I can finish the novel now….knowing that Peter and Susan won’t return, and that Prince Caspian and Susan won’t end up together.

ahh I’m seriously depressed…. I’ve lost all interest in Prince Caspian,  and my hopes of the two being together are SHOT DOWN by C.S Lewis. WHY WHY WHY!!!

Its like Wendy and Peter Pan.  Why couldn’t she stay in Neverland with Peter?  If I was Wendy and I had the choice to stay with Peter…I would stay!!!  But then again, how long could you stay with a boy who refuses to grow up?  BUT THEN AGAIN, why would you want to grow up and deal with all the crap that comes along with it?  Ugh. It’s a win-lose situation.

So going back to Narnia, I guess Susan couldn’t stay in Narnia forever; she had a life back in her own world. BUT WHY WOULD YOU GIVE UP PRINCE CASPIAN???

No matter how you look at it we can’t have the best of both worlds, which SUCKS because I’m the worst person to make decisions.  SO what if I want to have my cake and eat it too??  Why is everything so unfair and when will choices be easier to make?  It seems that even in fiction…life isn’t so perfect, and conflicts still arise.  What we can take from these books, is to learn how to DEAL with those situations in our real lives.  Fiction gives examples of real-life situations and draws out all the possibilities.  These stories help us prepare for the real-world and real-life problems.

Even though Wendy doesn’t stay with Peter, or that Susan leaves Narnia and never comes back, we learn that we can never live in a fantasy world no matter how much we want to.  BUT, there are times when we can slip away to Neverland or Narnia for a bit.  However, we always have to return to the here and now.  It sucks, I know.  But we have to think of it this way…. it always taste sweeter when you have it once in a while.  So why would you want to spoil it?

So for a moral ending to this little piece, with the power to escape into fantasy, we must have the responsibility not to overuse it and to learn to compromise.

I end my post with a little wisdom from my friends in MAROON 5:

“Its not always rainbows and butterflies, its compromise that moves us along”

Give and take. Win and lose.  It balances our world and it keeps us rational.

(pssst … I would still stay with Peter, we would just have to compromise his whole deal with not growing up.  But then again, he wouldn’t be Peter Pan if he grew up. UGH!! I’m back where I started.  But hey, a girl can dream can’t she?)

Jo and Joe.

2 thoughts on “With great power, comes great responsibility.

  1. Since you are not going to read the book anymore, I don’t feel bad giving up the spoilers: The whole Susan-Caspian thingie is only in movie. Not so much in the book. The kiss, that never happens in the book 😉

  2. I have read the books and yesterday i saw the movie an i love the pairing Susan and Caspian! I’m very depressed too that she never come back to narnia. but please what means “end up togehter?” is that something like , you know the boyfriend girlfriend thing? when susan said goodbye to caspian i was crying (the song was so haaaaaa and beautiful at the same time.)
    nice greetings from germany

Leave a Reply

