Greets and Sals.

Greetings and Salutations from SUMMER!!!  

In celebration of summer, aka freedom from class, permission to tan, be lazy and lay back while sipping your favorite drink, I have decided to compile a list of my summer obsessions.  It’s the hottest list to hit wordpress.  Allow me to introduce jO’s:

MUST HAVE, MUST SEE AND MUST DO LIST

Or simply My M&Ms. 

 

 

 

MUST DO: Read The Chronicles of Narnia (if you haven’t already).

  

With no more homework, essays or readings, this summer I finally have time to read what I want to read.  Now judge all you want, but I’ve begun reading:The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA

From the moment I saw Prince Caspian’s face on the movie posters, I ran home, took the books off the shelf ( I must admit…they were dusty) and started reading.  I’ve just finished the first book, The Magician’s Nephew, which was the cutest book ever.  But my question is, where were these books when I was younger??  I mean, I don’t know about you, but I do not remember them sprawled out in the bookstore, or my mom ever mentioning them.  But anyways, I’ve just started The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and I’m just head over heels.  Sure it is a children’s book, but when have we ever been too old for fairy tales? 

In The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, C.S. Lewis, I have always believed in Once upon a time, but I was always afraid to admit it out loud.  But I feel that I’ve reached a point in my life where I realize that believing in something is better than believing in nothing. Because without that hope in Once upon a time, what do you have to look forward to?

Back to the novel, C.S. Lewis dedicated the book to his goddaughter, Lucy and wrote: 

As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still.  But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.”

To be honest, I never really grew out of fairy tales, but for me, this statement means a lot.  There is a time when you are little, when fairy tales are like a dream almost…and you actually believe in Once upon a time.  But as you get older, you begin to think that this Once upon a time isn’t realistic.  HOWEVER, once you reach a certain age with experience, that belief in Once upon a time comes back, and you begin to understand it better.  Whatever that age is, its different for all of us.  As for the in Once upon a time, then I suggest you grab this book…and start believing.  Summer is here, and it allows your mind to relax and wander.  It’s the perfect time to lose yourself in Narina, because in reality…you’re not losing any time.

 -jOO

3 thoughts on “Greets and Sals.

  1. Pingback: Movies and Film Blog » Greets and Sals.

  2. i appreciate that someone else is as obsessed with narnia as i am. youll have to mail me the books so i can read them…or maybe ill just buy them!

Leave a Reply

